Arthur Frommer says skip Arizona

I am not yet certain whether I would advocate a travel boycott by others of the state of Arizona; I want to learn more about Arizona’s gun laws and how they compare with those of other states. But I am shocked beyond measure by reports that earlier this week, nearly a dozen persons, including one with an assault rifle strapped about his shoulders and others with pistols in their hands or holsters, were openly congregating outside a hall at which President Obama was speaking to the Veterans of Foreign Wars.—Arthur Frommer

I hate to beat a dead horse, as the old saying goes, but I recently came across the article Do Guns at Political Events Disturb you? Then Skip Arizona for Now.

Arthur Frommer on his blog states, “For myself, without yet suggesting that others follow me in an open boycott, I will not personally travel in a state where civilians carry loaded weapons onto the sidewalks and as a means of political protest. I not only believe such practices are a threat to the future of our democracy, but I am firmly convinced that they would also endanger my own personal safety there.”

I would hasten to point out that the Second Amendment was instituted to protect this so-called Democracy that you are so proud of. It would take a liberal to call a Republic a Democracy, but so-be-it. They went to the event so-dressed to show that Arizona supports the Second Amendment to the Constitution. A Constitution that Obama swore to support and defend twice and who has taken every opportunity to circumvent ever since.

In any case, the very event that Frommer speaks of was a staged event that the police were made very aware of. More than likely, none of the weapons contained any ammo, so your very life was not endangered. I might point out, in fact, that no one was brazenly gunned down at any of the events.

“According to the Phoenix, Arizona, police, people with guns including assault rifles do not need permits in Arizona, but can simply carry such weapons with them, openly and brazenly, when they gather to protest a speaker at a public event. The police also acknowledge that about a dozen people carrying guns, including one with an AR-15 assault rifle, milled about outside the event at which President Obama spoke,” Frommer continued.

As I understand my history, the term “assault rifle” originated from the Kolesnikov AK-47. It was originally applied only to the Russian-made, fully automatic weapon. Liberals liked the scary effect of the term so much they have applied it to all weapons they don’t like. People who know guns apply the term only to fully-automatic weapons. Not the semi-automatic AR-15 that was carried to the event.

As for Arthur Frommer steering clear of Arizona? Doesn’t bother me. We don’t need your Rubles.

This entry was posted in I Opine, Second Amendment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

