Britain recognizes global warming as a religion

Pope Gore.

Grainger, a property company in England, laid off Tim Nicholson, 42, of Oxford, in 2008 as its head of sustainability. Nicholson contended that this was due to his belief in man-made climate change, the Register reported.

He appealed the firing to a tribunal and won. The company appealed the appeal to a court, and lost.

Nicholson had written: “I have a strongly held philosophical belief about climate change and the environment. I believe we must urgently cut carbon emissions to avoid catastrophic climate change. It is not merely an opinion but a philosophical belief which affects how I live my life including my choice of home, how I travel, what I buy, what I eat and drink, what I do with my waste and my hopes and my fears. For example, I no longer travel by airplane, I have eco-renovated my home, I try to buy local produce, I have reduced my consumption of meat, I compost my food waste, I encourage others to reduce their carbon emissions and I fear very much for the future of the human race, given the failure to reduce carbon emissions on a global scale.”

Justice Michael Burton opined: “A belief in man-made climate change, and the alleged resulting moral imperatives, is capable, if genuinely held, of being a philosophical belief for the purpose of the 2003 Religion and Belief Regulations. The belief must be of a similar cogency or status to a religious belief, the ECHR jurisprudence is directly material and the limitations on the concept and extent of a philosophical belief can be derived from that, without the need to place any additional limitation on the nature or source of the belief.”

Daily Mail UK

This entry was posted in Economy, Environment, Religion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

